Changing Gears

It has been 35 days since my last post. Whoa. Where does the time go? I started this blog as a means of motivation to stay inspired in the kitchen and stick to the Weight Watchers plan all while working the crazy schedule as a waitress. Well, a lot has changed since arriving back in NYC from our two- week trip to Spain.

First, I am no longer a waitress. I am still working at Haven’s Kitchen a few nights a month but now my main gig is hanging out with the two coolest kids in the city- I am a New York City nanny to an amazing family! My schedule has shifted from getting home at 3am from a long night dealing with guests and restaurant drama to snoozing my alarm at 5:53am everyday until I finally pull myself out of bed around 6:15. I’m out the door by 6:45 and on “mommy duty” starting at 7:30am. My schedule varies but I am with the family about 30 hours a week (or like last week, 52 hours…) but I absolutely love it. I have never been this happy in a job. It’s been 2 months (I started shortly after arriving back from vacation) and I think the early morning routine is my only complaint- but it isn’t even really a complaint. As soon as I am out my door in the morning, I am filled with excitement to see what the day with the kiddos holds. They’re just simply adorable, amazing, loving, snuggly and growing every day!

Second, I am no longer doing Weight Watchers. I struggled with this decision for a few months before finally pulling the plug last week. I am a huge supporter of the WW plan and, at only $18.95 a month for the online program, it is affordable. But I wasn’t using the tools and I wasn’t logging. It just started to feeling like a burden instead of a helpful weight loss tool. But I am optimistic in my journey to loose some more weight.

Lastly, I have not been inspired in the kitchen, which is the main reason for my absence here. It is actually a combination of all three things. I originally started this blog with a very specific point of view- WW follower and wildly inspired restaurant employee. I am no longer any of those things.

So I am changing gears.

I have held off on any blog posts recently because I felt like I owed everyone some background on my absence. I couldn’t start a post and just drop in, “Well, I quit Weight Watchers” without some sort of explanation. I have a few posts in mind and one I have been working on so keep an eye out for the new direction.

I will eventually get around the changing around the “About Me” section of the blog but for now, here’s my new focus: eating right while managing two young kids (10 months and 3 ½) while using short cuts to eat as healthfully, locally and seasonally as possible.

Thank you everyone for your support and any all and “mommy” tips would be appreciated. Let’s just say, I have a whole new appreciation for parents. Like, WHOA.

Leave a Reply

