Crispy Pizza Dough

Two posts in one day! I wanted to try this recipe out a few times before posting but here it is: the best crispy pizza dough recipe! I have been making my own pizza dough for a while but I could never get the flour/water ratio right. Like most recipes I develop, I also research at least 5-7 recipes online before grabbing my favorite ideas from each and putting them together.

I was working on putting some ideas together about two weeks ago when I stumbled upon this recipe from Bon Appetit. I decided to just go for it and see how it turned out. I altered it only slightly (used my hands to mix instead of a processor). It was PERFECT! I rolled it out as thinly as possible and it is perfectly crispy and crunchy.

Crispy Pizza Dough

3/4 cup warm water

1 envelope active dry yeast

2 cups (+ 1/2 cup divided for kneading and rolling) all purpose flour

1 teaspoon sugar

3/4 teaspoon salt

3 tablespoons olive oil

Directions
Pour 3/4 cup warm water into small bowl; stir in yeast. Let stand until yeast dissolves, about 5 minutes.

Mix 2 cups flour, sugar, and salt in a large bowl.

Add yeast mixture and 3 tablespoons oil to dry ingredients and mix (using your hands is easiest) until the dough is stringy.

Transfer to lightly floured surface and knead dough until smooth, adding more flour by tablespoonfuls if dough is very sticky, about 5 minutes (the original recipe calls for one minute but I found it worked well by kneading it a little longer because I didn’t use a processor to mix it).

Transfer to a lightly oiled bowl; turn dough in bowl to coat with oil.

Cover bowl with plastic wrap and let dough rise in warm draft-free area until doubled in volume, about 1 hour.

Punch down dough, roll into a large ball and then divide into 4 equal-sized dough balls.

Wrap each dough ball in plastic wrap (or, better yet, an air-tight container) and refrigerate for up to 4 days before using (you can freeze the dough balls for up to a month as well- just be careful of freezer burn- and let it thaw in the fridge for at least 24 hours before using).

WW Points: 6 points per dough ball (makes 4 pizza dough balls)

Leave a Reply

