Spring is here: Asparagus!

Spring is here: Asparagus!

I love asparagus. In fact, I’ve always loved asparagus. I was one of those weird kids who loved most things green- green beans and asparagus were among my favorites. I’m not sure where this love came from but I’m assuming my grandfather’s garden in Wisconsin had something to do with it.

My mom is from a small town called Osseo where her father was the town baker. In the summers, their entire side yard was a massive garden that my grandfather used to sit by and watch over in the late afternoons through the summer. Unfortunately, my grandfather passed away before my first birthday so I’ve only seen pictures of the infamous garden (which was also turned into the town ice skating rink in the winters).

The one thing that continued to grow year after year after he passed was the asparagus. I’m not sure if it kept growing on it’s own (can asparagus do that?) or if the town planted it along the edges of my grandparents property but, either way, it was there. All I remember is visiting Osseo with my family as a young girl and my sister and I would go outside and pick the asparagus that was growing along the side walk. 

My grandmother has since passed away and we have sold that house on Main St in Osseo but I will always remember picking the asparagus from the yard and bringing it inside for my grandma to cook.

Leave a Reply

