Kale and Pineapple Breakfast Smoothie

I haven’t been great lately. My weight has been creeping up since I started this blog. I have found myself venturing out and trying a lot of new, not-so-healthy restaurants and hot spots. I figured the best way to get myself back on track was to find a way to start my day by getting a few helpings of fruit and veggies right off the bat.

I spent some time searching for a breakfast smoothie that sounded good to me. I love the basic strawberry/banana combo but I wanted to step it up a notch and find a way to get some green veggies in there as well. Enter: Kale/Pineapple Smoothie. This smoothie incorporates kale, pineapple, banana and almond milk. I will say, the first thing that caught my eye was the fact that it used almond milk. I have cut out most dairy from my diet in the past 6 or so month for no other reason than I feel better when I consume less dairy and it’s an easy way to cut out points (I think twice before having cheese, a latte, ice cream, etc). So almond milk was a big plus. The recipe makes two servings so either cut it in half or share it with a significant other or roommate.

Kale and Pineapple Smoothie

1 cup almond milk (I used vanilla unsweetened)

1 dense cup of chopped kale

1/2 of diced pineapple

1 banana

1/2 cup pineapple juice

Directions

Put in a blend and blend until smooth.

WW Points: 4 per serving (8 for the whole recipe)

This post is also a great opportunity to talk about building recipes on WW. At first glance it appeared as if this smoothie would virtually be zero points because the only components with points values are the almond milk and pineapple juice. It’s important, though,  that you utilize the “Recipe Builder” tab to enter ANY recipe you might log because this recipe actually has a significant number of points when considering why goes into it. This is because WW calculates the points by taking the TOTAL fat, carbs, fiber and protein in a recipe to get the points value instead of just adding the individual point values together. Using the recipe builder will help you stay on track and be 100% honest and true to the points system. In the end, it will only benefit you!

Leave a Reply

