Easy Way to Make a Rack of Lamb

Easy Way to Make a Rack of Lamb

I love lamb. Like most Americans, lamb is not the first protein of choice because most of us grew up on chicken, pork and beef. I remember the first time I tried lamb- the time that hooked me for life.

It happened while my family and I were living in the Netherlands and we took a trip to a family farm in Ireland. I have very deep roots in Ireland. My dad’s paternal grandfather (my great grandfather) was born and died on a small family farm in County Kildare and my dad recently got his Irish citizenship/passport. My grandfather’s first cousin, Pearl, lives on a family farm called Coolavacoose. This farm has been in our family forever (like since the 18th century). Here’s the 1901 census showing the Holt family living there. Pearl’s daughter married a farmer from County Adare (near Limerick) and that’s where we spent Easter 2000. The lamb we ate on that Easter day was slaughtered that morning and was one of the most delicious things I have ever experienced. Needless to say, this set my lamb standards pretty high.

I have only cooked lamb once before and it turned out alright. I’m always nervous to pick some up to cook at home because 1) it’s expensive and 2) it’s pretty easy to mess up. I stumbled upon this recipe earlier and it seems pretty fool-proof (just make sure you have a meat thermometer). I will definitely be trying it at home sometime very soon!

Leave a Reply

