Dekalb Farmer’s Market

My mom and I go to the Dekalb Farmer’s Market every time I visit Atlanta. Honestly, I would move to ATL just for this market. Anything you could ever need or want to buy for your culinary adventures is here. When I visited my parents last June, I was able to stock up on Asian kitchen necessities so I could finally try to cook some Vietnamese and Thai foods. I think I got all my oils, curry pastes, spices, etc for under $20- and these are the ingredients that would normally cost $7.99/oil in NYC. Their spice section alone is worth the trip. My mom bought me bulk spices (everything from fennel seed to curry powder to whole nutmeg) and each ¼ pint container cost 58 cents. Yup $0.58!

On our trip on Thursday, we had a specific grocery list for our dinner at home. We wanted pork tenderloin, veggies for a side dish and we needed a starch. There were also a few miscellaneous items to find. Here are some pictures I took while inside the market (sorry for the bad quality- you aren’t technically allowed to take pictures inside!):

IMG_5291

Fresh herbs

IMG_5292

Our shopping cart

IMG_5293

Oranges

IMG_5298

Shrimp (we bought so of these!)

IMG_5299

Crab

IMG_5300

Salmon

IMG_5301

Every cut of chicken you could ever want

IMG_5302

Skin-on chicken thighs (by far the best cut you can buy)

IMG_5303

Turkey meat, I believe?

IMG_5304

Olive bar

IMG_5305

Beef

IMG_5306

More beef

IMG_5307

Lamb tongue, kidney, etc.

IMG_5308

Lamb

IMG_5309

Pork

Next time you are in Atlanta, definitely check it out. You can wander for hours and find things you didn’t even know existed!

Leave a Reply

