Sugar and Oil

First off, I apologize if this post seems weird or inappropriate for a food blog. It’s a little out there but it is about using everyday items from your pantry to make an inexpensive and effective beauty product in your kitchen.

I go to a great place in the Flat Iron district called Uni K Wax to get all my waxing done. It’s all-natural, clean, quick and inexpensive. If you’re ever in NYC and find yourself in need of a wax, check them out and give my name as a referral (they have an AMAZING customer reward program!).  I use Gregoria- a sweet Dominican lady who actually lives about 6 blocks from me in Washington Heights. This post is all about a recommendation she gave me.

I am a firm believer in knowing where all your food comes from because of my background with Slow Food USA. I have also started adapting this philosophy in my use of beauty products. If you know all the ingredients (what they are, where they are from, etc), you can be sure that what you’re putting on your body (or in your body) is safe. Well Gregoria told me that my skin needed a little help and recommended making a homemade exfoliator.

IMG_5238

Homemade Exfoliator

1 cup white sugar

½ cup olive oil

 Instrutions:

Combine and stir until you have reached a slushy consistency. Adjust amount of olive oil and sugar as needed (the rough ratio is 2:1 sugar to oil).

This is so basic and it works wonders. Put it in a mason jar or old jam jar (like I did) and keep it in the shower. Use it once or twice a week as needed. You will feel like you just left a spa treatment and your skin will glow! I wish I had known about this sooner!

Leave a Reply

