Weight Watchers Quick “Vegetarian” Chili

I have made this chili a few times before and its so easy and delicious. I used to pass a Trader Joe’s walking home from work so I would just pop in, grab the ingredients and it was ready within 30 minutes of walking in the door. I have tweaked it a bit to fit my taste and I have added turkey to make it a little more filling. It does add a few points (if you stick with the 1 1/4 cup serving) but I have found that I don’t eat as big of a portion when the turkey is added in.

IMG_5150

WW Vegetarian Chili*

1 tsp canola oil

1 clove(s) (medium) garlic clove(s), minced

14 1/2 oz stewed tomato(es)

15 oz canned kidney beans, rinsed and drained

15 1/4 oz canned yellow corn, drained

15 oz canned tomato sauce

1 Tbsp chili powder

1/2 tsp dried oregano

1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes

1/4 cup(s) dehydrated onion flakes

1/4 tsp black pepper

 Instructions

Heat oil in a large, nonstick, heavy-bottomed pot over medium heat. Add garlic; cook, stirring frequently, until aromatic, about 2 minutes. Add tomatoes, beans, corn, tomato sauce, chili powder, oregano, red pepper flakes, onion and pepper; stir well.

Increase heat to high and bring chili to a boil; cook, stirring frequently, until chili is thick and flavors are concentrated, about 5 minutes. Spoon into serving bowls and sprinkle with cheese. Yields about 1 1/4 cups chili and 1 tablespoon cheese per serving.

Notes

Use a heavy pot or the chili can burn easily. If it starts to stick to the pan, reduce the heat and stir constantly.

*I made a few changes. First, I added in about a pound of ground turkey. I used the Trader Joe’s pre-cut mirepoix (onions, carrots and celery) instead of garlic, olive oil instead of canola and I omitted the onion flakes and the oregano. I also added in cayenne (I love heat) and I added in black beans.

IMG_5151

First I added the mirepoix to the oil

IMG_5152

Once the mirepoix had cooked down a little (about 4-5 minutes), I added in the turkey. This is when I added most of my seasoning (cayenne, chili flakes, salt, pepper and some garlic powder)

IMG_5153

While the turkey was browning, I emptied the black beans, kidney beans and corn into a colander and rinsed them (this is important because it helps remove unneeded starch from the beans and corn)

IMG_5154

Once the turkey has browned on one side, break it up with your wooden spoon and mix in the mirepoix

IMG_5155

Add in the stewed tomatoes and tomato sauce. Stir to incorporate

IMG_5156

Add in the beans and corn and stir

IMG_5157

Bring to a boil and stir occasionally for 10-15 minutes until the chili thickens

IMG_5159

(this is while it’s boiling)

IMG_5163

ALL DONE!

WW Points for WW version (no meat) : 8 points per 1 1/4 cup serving

WW Points for my version: 7 points per 1 cup serving

The best part about this recipe? All the ingredients (minus spices and oil) cost around $12 at Trader Joe’s. Thats only $2.40 per serving! YAY for cheap, filling and delicious recipes!

3 thoughts on “Weight Watchers Quick “Vegetarian” Chili

Leave a Reply

