Broccoli Parmesan Fritters part 2

I mentioned in my Easter post that I was going to try to make the broccoli parmesan fritters without using a ton of oil to fry them. Well, I tried and I think they turned out alright. I did a few things differently than the first time:

1. I decided to use a bag of broccoli from Trader Joe’s instead of fresh broccoli. Why? I can microwave it in the bag, it’s the perfect amount of broccoli, it is already prepped and its cheap!

2. I decided to chop the cooked broccoli before adding it to the egg/parmesan/flour mixture instead of using a potato masher to mix everything together.

3. I added a TON of crushed red pepper flakes (I love spicy food!).

4. I baked them in the oven instead of frying them in oil.

IMG_5113

All the ingredients

IMG_5117

All the dry ingredients with the egg

IMG_5119

After chopping and adding in the broccoli

IMG_5121

Formed into fritters

I knew the fritters would bake through but I wanted to try and achieve the same crisp outside. I decided to heat up my oven to 450 degrees with my pizza stone in the oven. I let the pizza stone sit at 450 degrees for about 10 minutes, sprayed it with my PAM olive oil and added the fritters (which I also sprayed with the PAM). Once they were on the hot pizza stone (I could hear them sizzle when the went down), I flattened them out using the back side of my spatula.

IMG_5124

I let them cook on each side for 7 mins (14 mins total) and they turned out great! The inside is a little softer (but cooked) and the outside was able to crisp up a bit! I will definitely be cooking them this way from now on.

IMG_5125

And for a little humor…IMG_5115

IMG_5116

I spilled an entire container of baking soda all over my kitchen and all over myself while reaching for the flour. Oops?

One thought on “Broccoli Parmesan Fritters part 2

Leave a Reply

