Homemade Light Box

A co-worker of mine suggested making a light box for all the pictures I’ll be taking for the blog. So today, I ventured to Michael’s for the supplies. I was surprised how easy it was and how little it cost. I googled “homemade light box” and I read a ton of blogs about how to do it. I kind of improvised by taking the general idea I got from all the blogs but this might be the best description. I bought some white poster board, white tissue paper, and packing tape at Michael’s and then asked my local dollar store for an extra box. The only other thing I needed was scissors. Here are some pictures of the process:

IMG_4940

IMG_4941

IMG_4942

IMG_4943

IMG_4945

IMG_4946

I need to get different lights and I need to find a permanent home for the light box but I am so happy with how it turned out. Look at the difference:

IMG_4947

Apple on my kitchen table with natural light (above) and apple in the light box (below)

IMG_4951

Here’s a side-by-side of a lime (natural light on top and in the light box on the bottom):

IMG_4952

And a picture of my cilantro plant from the fresh herb post:

IMG_4953

It’s not perfect and I am going to need to make a bigger on eventually but I think, with the right light source, this is going to make a big difference in my pictures! I’m so excited to try it out on my next post!

One thought on “Homemade Light Box

Leave a Reply

