Food for Thought: Mark Bittman and Michael Pollan

I just wanted to share a few links quickly. While working at Slow Food, I was lucky enough to be surrounded by some amazing minds in the food movement. I even got to talk to Mark Bittman and Michael Pollan on the phone a few times!! My reaction after hanging up the phone after talking to them on different occasions was similar to my reaction to seeing Hanson in concert circa 1998. I’m a food nerd but I’m ok with that.

1. Here is a link to a recent Mark Bittman article from the New York Times Opinionator called “Slow Food Quickens the Pace“. This more or less summarizes my outlook on life and the food movement.

2. Another Mark Bittman article from about a year ago about meat consumption and the industrialization of food. 

3. Everyone should read this book. Michael Pollan is a genius. This book is short and simple and can be read in a subway ride from Brooklyn to Washington Heights.

If we could all get in line with these views, the food system as we know it would improve immensely! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

